Country GuideArgentina

From Global Connections

Argentina is the sixth largest recipient of FDI inflows in South America; FDI inflows reached USD6.6 billion in 2014.

Argentina ranked 121st in the World Bank's 2016 Doing Business rankings, falling four places from 117th in the year prior. Argentina's best rankings were in the Enforcing Contracts and Protecting Minority Investors categories, where it ranked 38th and 49th in the world, respectively. Its lowest rankings were in Dealing with Construction Permits and Paying Taxes, where it ranked 173rd and 170th in the world.

Key facts about starting a business in Argentina:

  • It takes 14 procedures and approximately 25 days to start a new business in Argentina; this process is detailed in the Doing Business in chapter
  • The processing fee for a permanent work visa is USD200; employment regulations are discussed in detail in the Labour chapter
  • Requesting and obtaining final authorisation for a construction permit takes approximately 173 days and costs ARS3,923
  • Public companies must compile and file their accounts using IFRS. Private companies can voluntarily adopt full IFRS, IFRS for SMEs or local professional accounting standards; further details can be found in the Audit chapter
  • There are no minimum trading record or working capital requirements for companies that wish to list securities on the Buenos Aires Stock Exchange; this is discussed further in the Finance chapter

Argentina's attractiveness as an investment location can be attributed to a number of factors, including its highly qualified labour force and large reserves of minerals and precious metals. Nevertheless, in order to make an informed decision, it is critical to understand the nuances of any local regime. The manner in which people conduct business in Argentina may differ from the home countries of investors. Furthermore, variations on these distinctions may exist depending on the region and industry in which a company operates.

Argentina's official language is Spanish, although many other languages are spoken, including English and Italian. Argentine Spanish is heavily influenced by Italian and is dissimilar to Spanish spoken elsewhere in South America. Dress codes in the workplace are typically conservative but stylish; Argentinians place high value on good appearance. A handshake is the typical business greeting. Punctuality is expected. There are no expected formalities when exchanging business cards. Gift giving is not expected as part of business interactions.

Those looking to establish a business in Argentina may look across South America for alternative options. However, Argentina can be differentiated on the following factors:

  • Argentina is the world’s 25th largest economy and the second largest in South America
  • Argentina has an abundance of natural resources; it is a top five world producer of agricultural commodities such as soya and maize and has the world’s third largest deposits of shale gas and fourth of shale oil
  • According to the World Bank, the quality of Argentina's judicial processes (12/18) ranks significantly higher than the Latin American and Caribbean Average (8.4/18)
  • The government provides tax incentives to promote exports; the tax regime is detailed in the Tax chapter
  • Argentina has 21 international airports, offering flights to more than 40 destinations; further details can be found in the Infrastructure chapter
  • Argentina is a member of the MERCOSUR trading bloc; discussed further in the Trade chapter

While there are significant opportunities for investment in Argentina, a number of challenges remain. The country has one of the highest inflation rates in the world providing for a challenging business environment. It also has complex import and export restrictions in place that are difficult for many businesses to navigate. Furthermore, restrictions on currency remittances continue to discourage new investment in the country.

This guide has been developed to provide businesses with an overview of Argentina, its legal regime, start-up and market entry considerations, tax and customs requirements and a general summary of the factors that may affect the decision to do business in Argentina. However, the information contained in this document is generic in nature and you should not act or rely on it without obtaining specific professional advice.

Please note that the Country Guides may only be available in English.

Useful Links

1 Public Registry of Commerce
2 Federal Administration of Public Revenue
3 National Immigration Office
4 National Institute of Industrial Property
5 National Directorate for Personal Data Protection
6 Invest in Argentina
7 Ministry of Labour, Employment and Social Security

 

Sources

1 FDI Statistics – UNCTAD World Investment Report
2 Doing Business Rankings
3 Work Visa
4 Economy Size
5 Top 5 producer agricultural commodities

 

Download Country Guide - Argentina (3.52MB, PDF)

Disclaimer

This document is issued by HSBC Bank plc. (the Bank). This guide is a joint project with Grant Thornton. It is not intended as an offer or solicitation for business to anyone in any jurisdiction. It is not intended for distribution to anyone located in or resident in jurisdictions which restrict the distribution of this document. It shall not be copied, reproduced, transmitted or further distributed by any recipient. The information contained in this document is of a general nature only. It is not meant to be comprehensive and does not constitute financial, legal, tax or other professional advice. You should not act upon the information contained in this document without obtaining specific professional advice. Whilst every care has been taken in preparing this document, the Bank and Grant Thornton makes no guarantee, representation or warranty (express or implied) as to its accuracy or completeness, and under no circumstances will the Bank or Grant Thornton be liable for any loss caused by reliance on any opinion or statement made in this document. Except as specifically indicated, the expressions of opinion are those of the Bank and are subject to change without notice. The materials contained in this document were assembled in January 2016 and were based on the law enforceable and information available at that time.

Grant Thornton refers to the brand under which the Grant Thornton member firms provide assurance, tax and advisory services to their clients and/or refers to one or more member firms, as the context requires. Grant Thornton International Ltd (GTIL) and its member firms are not a worldwide partnership. GTIL and each member firm is a separate legal entity. Services are delivered by the member firms. GTIL does not provide services to clients. GTIL and its member firms are not agents of, and do not obligate, one another and are not liable for one another’s acts or omissions. This publication has been prepared only as a guide. No responsibility can be accepted by GTIL for loss occasioned to any person acting or refraining from acting as a result of any material in this publication.

HSBC retains all responsibility for the translation of the content of this guide. In the event of any discrepancy or inconsistency between the English and translated versions of this Guide, the English version shall apply and prevail.

Contact us

Call us on: General Enquiry 853-28553669

Request a callback

Every customer enquiry is important to us. By providing details about your business interests we can direct your enquiry to our most relevant team member.

Please don’t enter confidential information such as your bank account details here.
All fields are mandatory unless otherwise indicated as optional.

  1. 01 Current Step 01
  2. 02 Step 02

Reason for contacting us

Enter a topic
Enter a topic

Contact details

Please enter your name
Please enter your telephone number

When may we call you?

Preferred time of day

We will call you within the next 3 business days

Back

Request a call-back - Your business interests (optional)

Every customer enquiry is important to us. By providing details about your business interests we can direct your enquiry to our most relevant team member.

Please don’t enter confidential information such as your bank account details here.
All fields are mandatory unless otherwise indicated as optional.

  1. 01 Completed Step 01
  2. 02 Current Step 02

Business size (optional)

Your business turnover

Your industry sector (optional)

Your market interest (optional)

Which international markets interest you?

Add your business interests

Please don’t enter confidential information such as your bank account details here.
All fields are mandatory unless otherwise indicated as optional.

Business size

Your business turnover

Your industry sector

Your market interest

Which international markets interest you?

Request a callback

  • Sorry

We’ve encountered a problem

We couldn’t send your message. Please try again, return later or call us on

853-28553669

Request a callback

  • Thank you

We’ll be in touch

A Relationship Manager from HSBC Macau SAR will give you a call within three business days.

Your interests

  • Business name:
  • Turnover:
  • Sector:
  • Location:
  • International markets:

Add your business interests

We won’t sell your data or misuse it. Read how we handle your details in our cookie policy.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC CMB website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

國家導覽阿根廷

阿根廷是南美洲第 6 大全球外商直接投資 (FDI) 資金流入的領受者; 其 2014 年的全球外商直接投資 (FDI) 流入量高達 66 億美元。

阿根廷於世界銀行 2016 年全球營商環境排名中排第 121 位,較去年的 117 位下降 4 名。 阿根廷於「履行合同」及「保護少數投資者」兩項指標表現最佳,分別居於世界第 38 位及 49 位。 排名較低的兩項指標則為「辦理施工許可證」及「納稅」,分別居於世界第 173 位及第 170 位。

有關於阿根廷創業的重要資訊:

  • 如在阿根廷創業,需要完成 14 項程序而歷時約 25 日,有關過程已於〈在當地營商〉一章詳述
  • 申請永久工作簽證的手續費為 200 美元,勞工守則則已詳載於〈勞工〉一章
  • 由申請到獲取正式批准的施工許可證,歷時約 173 日,費用則為 3,923 阿根廷披索
  • 上市公司必須根據《國際財務報告準則》(IFRS) 編寫及整理賬目。 私人公司則可自行選擇全盤採用《國際財務報告準則》(IFRS)、《中小企業國際財務報導準則》(IFRS for SMEs) 或本地專業會計準則整理賬目,更多詳情可參閱〈審計〉一章
  • 阿根廷的布宜諾斯艾利斯證券交易所並沒有就有意發行證券的公司設立交易記錄或營運資金下限,相關資料已詳載於〈金融〉一章

阿根廷能成為投資地方,吸引力來自幾個因素,包括高質素的勞動力,以及豐富的礦物和珍貴金屬資源。 不過,要作出知情而明智的決定,了解任何當地管理體制的細微之處乃至關重要。 阿根廷的營商環境與方式可能跟投資者的國家有所不同。 而且,視乎該企業營運的地區與行業,也有可能產生差異。

阿根廷的官方語言為西班牙文,不過當地亦會使用許多其他語言,包括英文及意大利文。 阿根廷的西班牙文受意大利文大大影響,與南美洲其他地方所使用的西班牙文相異。 其工作環境的服裝標準甚為保守,但同時時尚高雅; 阿根廷人非常重視儀表。 握手是基本的商務禮儀。 守時亦十分重要。 交換名片時並沒有特定的禮儀。 送禮亦並非商業交流的環節。

有意在阿根廷創業的人士,可能會同時考慮選擇南美洲其他地方。 不過,阿根廷在以下各方面可能較為優勝:

  • 阿根廷是全球第 25 大及南美洲第 2 大的經濟體系
  • 阿根廷有非常豐富的天然資源;亦是全球 5 大農產品(如大豆、玉米)的製造商,並擁有相當充足的葉岩氣及葉岩油,儲量分別為全球第 3 及第 4 之多
  • 根據世界銀行,阿根廷的司法程序得分(12/18)遠遠高於拉丁美洲及阿勒比海地區的平均分(8.4/18)
  • 阿根廷政府提供稅務優惠以鼓勵出口,相關稅制於〈稅務〉一章有所詳述
  • 阿根廷有 21 個國際機場,提供飛往超過 40 個目的地的航班,更多詳情可參閱〈基建〉一章
  • 阿根廷是南方共同市場 (MERCOSUR) 的成員之一,相關資訊將於〈貿易〉一章進一步詳述

在阿根廷有許多顯著的投資機會,但同時亦存在一些挑戰。 阿根廷的通脹率非常高,令營商環境顯得更為艱辛。 同時,阿根廷設有相當複雜的進口及出口限制,為企業營運帶來困難。 而且,貨幣匯款的限制亦阻礙了新的投資輸入國家。

本指引旨在為企業提供阿根廷的概觀,分述其法律制度、創業及進入市場的考慮因素、稅項及關稅規定,以及整合了其他有可能影響是否要在阿根廷營運企業的決策之各項因素。 但本指引內的資料僅為一般性質的介紹,閣下請勿在沒有徵求明確的專業意見的情況下,單純根據本指引作出任何決策或行動。

有關連結

1 商業公共登記處
2 聯邦公共收入管理局
3 國家移民局
4 國家工業產權局  
5 國家個人資料保護局
6 投資阿根廷
7 勞工、就業及社會安全部

 

下載國家指引(英文) - 阿根廷 (3.52MB, PDF)

免責聲明

本文件由滙豐銀行有限公司 (HSBC Bank plc.)(下稱本行)發行。本指引與致同會計師事務所 (Grant Thornton) 共同製作。本文件並非要向任何司法管轄區的任何人提供或徵求利益。本文件並非要特意向身處或居住於司法管轄區的任何人發佈,因此舉會限制了本文件的發佈。任何收件人不得將本文件複印、重製、傳播或再發佈予其他人。本文件內的資訊只是一般性質。本文件未能全面概括所有資料,亦不含任何財務、法律、稅務或其他專業意見。閣下請勿在沒有徵求明確的專業意見的情況下,單純根據本文件內的資訊作出任何決策或行動。即使本文件的製作過程非常認真,但本行及致同不會就資訊的準確性或完整性作出保證、聲明或承諾(明示或暗示)。在任何情況下,本行及致同俱不會因為依據本文件的意見或陳述而造成的損失負責。除非特別表明,本文件內所表達的意見皆隸屬於本行,並有可能隨時變更而不作另行通知。本文件內的資料於 2016 年 1 月整合,並以當時實行的法律及可用資訊作為基礎。

致同指致同會計師事務所 (Grant Thornton),為客人提供保險、稅項及顧問服務,根據特定環境可指 1 間或多間所屬會計師行。 致同國際 (GTIL)及其轄下會計師行並非全球合作伙伴關係。致同國際及各會計師行為獨立的法律實體。會計師行會為客人提供服務, 而致同國際不會為客人提供任何服務。致同國際及其會計師行並非對方的代理人,亦不會為對方負有法律義務,不需為對方的行為或疏忽負責。本出版品只是一般指引。致同國際不會為任何人因為本文件的資料的作為或不作為所引致的損失負責。

滙豐亦不會為本指引的譯本內容負責。若本指引的英文版本與翻譯版本有任何衝突或不一致之處,概以英文版本為準。

聯絡我們

聯絡電話: 853-28553669

要求回電

我們重視每個客戶的查詢。 提供有關對您事業感興趣的詳細資料,您的查詢能交到所屬的部門同事手中。

請勿在此輸入如銀行帳戶等機密資料

  1. 01 Current Step 01
  2. 02 Step 02

聯絡事由

輸入一個主題
輸入一個主題

聯絡資料

請輸入您的姓名
請輸入您的電話號碼

什麼時候致電給您?

方便的時間 *

我們會在接下來三個營業日內聯絡您

返回

要求回電 - 您的事業興趣 (可選擇填寫)

我們重視每個客戶的查詢。 提供有關對您事業感興趣的詳細資料,您的查詢能交到所屬的部門同事手中。

請勿在此輸入如銀行帳戶等機密資料

  1. 01 Completed Step 01
  2. 02 Current Step 02

業務規模 (可選擇填寫)

您的營業額

您的產業部門 (可選擇填寫)

您感興趣的市場 (可選擇填寫)

您對哪個國際市場感興趣?

RTCAddBusinessInterests

請勿在此輸入如銀行帳戶等機密資料

Business size

您的營業額

您的產業部門

您感興趣的市場

您對哪個國際市場感興趣?

要求回電

  • 很抱歉

發生問題

無法傳送您的訊息 請重試一次、稍後再試,或致電給我們

853-28553669

要求回電

  • 感謝您

我們會與您緊密聯繫

您在三個營業日內會接到澳門特別行政區滙豐客戶經理的電話。

您的興趣

  • 事業名稱:
  • 營業額:
  • 部門:
  • 地點:
  • 國際市場:

RTCAddBusinessInterests

您的資料不會遭盜賣或不當使用。 關於我們如何處理您的個人資料,請參閱 cookie 政策.

您正要離開滙豐網站。

請注意外部網站的政策與我們網站的條款須知與私隱政策不同。 接下來的網站會以新的瀏覽視窗或分頁開啟。

您正要離開滙豐網站。

請注意外部網站的政策與我們網站的條款須知與私隱政策不同。 接下來的網站會以新的瀏覽視窗或分頁開啟。